Weekly News – 4th September

Wake up and Smell the Roses Run

his weekend we have a 28km route mapped out (thanks Gerry) with shorter options also to choose fromJ. We are meeting on Sunday 6th September at 10.30am at the south beach car park! See you there

Next Monday & Wednesday Training Sessions:

Next week’s sessions are as follows:

Endurance/XC Group
Monday 7th September – Track
12 x 400m with 2.5min recovery

Wednesday 9th September – Trail Run
Trail Run in Altidore – meet up there at 7pm

Marathon & BQ Group – only 58 Days to go!!
Monday 7th September – Track
20 x 400m with 90sec recovery

Wednesday 9th September – Road
10mins easy , 30mins at 80% marathon pace and 10mins easy

Results

Longford Marathon Sunday 30th August
Last weekend 2 of our athletes took part in the Longford Marathon, Tyge Jensen and Brian Gurrin. Tyge completed the course in a cracking time of 04:06:11, this is a massive new PB for Tyge, Well done!

This was Brian’s 4th marathon in 4 months, thus concluding one of the provincial tour. He also pulled it out the bag on the day with another super PB of 02:55:11 on his old knackered legs LOL. He also came 9th overall in the race and came 2nd in his age group.

Grant Thornton 5km 1st September
On Tuesday night just gone was the Grant Thornton 5km run in the city centre. We had 4 athletes take part with the following great times : Mark Byrne – 19:25 (PB), Richard hourihan – 17:01, Mark Walsh – 17:26 and Eoghan Mooney – 17:50. Well done guys!

Upcoming Events
As you know we are coming into the cross country season. This is where all your hard training efforts will pay off

Sunday 4th October – Wicklow Novice & Even Ages – U8 – 200m U10 – 1000m U12 2000m U14 3000m U16 4000m – all boys and girls U18 girls 4km – 4km Women 6km Men – hosted by Parnell AC in Avondale

Sunday 11th October – Wicklow Intermediate & Uneven Ages – U7 – 200m U9 – 600m U11 – 1500m U13 – 2500m U15 3500m U17 4000m – hosted by Roundwood AC – exact location TBC

Sunday 18th October – Autumn Open Cross Country (formerly know as the Gerry Farnan) – location TBC! – Una would like us to enter a team into this

Sunday 25th October – Leinster Even Age, Novice & Master Cross Country – Avondale is a potential venue but this is to be formally confirmed

Sunday 8th November – Leinster Uneven Age & Intermediate Cross Country – location tbc

Saturday 14th November – British & Irish Masters XC – Dublin

Sunday 22nd November – Inter Clubs & Juvenile Even Age XC – location TBC – Fionnuala would like us to enter a team into this

Sunday 6th December – National Novice & Juvenile Uneven Age XC – location TBC

Sunday 13th December – Wicklow Senior XC – Avondale – 5km Women 10km Men

Sunday 3rd January 2016 – Wicklow Masters XC – Ashford – 4km Women 6km Men

Saturday 9th January 2016 – Glohealth 4km & Juvenile B Cross Country – location TBC

Juvenile League
There will be three rounds of the Juvenile League held between September and December and medals will be presented to those athletes who take part in TWO of the three events

Round 1 – Friday 11th September – Greystones (this is a change from the original venue as Inbhear Dee declared the original site at the Murrough to be unfit for the event)

Round 2 – Friday 20th November – Parnell AC

Round 3 – Friday 11th December – Bray Runners AC